About

Our Mission

Girls Rock Campaign Boston empowers girls, women, and youth and adults with marginalized gender identities to believe in themselves by providing a supportive community that fosters self-expression, confidence, and collaboration through musical education and performance.

What We Do

Girls Rock Campaign Boston (GRCB) is a volunteer-driven music and mentorship organization that offers year-round programming to girls, women, and youth and adults with marginalized gender identities in the Boston area.

We believe that in order to become leaders in a world that frequently minimizes the voices of girls and youth with marginalized gender identities, these youth need an enriching environment with positive mentors to encourage a healthy sense of self and confidence in their abilities. We are building a supportive community in Boston that uses hands-on music education and performance as a vehicle to encourage confidence and collaboration while fostering creativity and self-expression.

Each program is facilitated by female, trans and gender-nonconforming volunteers who guide youth as they form bands, learn how to play an instrument (guitar, bass, keyboards, drums, vocals, or electronic music), compose original songs and perform. There is no experience necessary to attend and we provide all instruments and equipment.

Girls Rock Campaign Boston is a 501(c)3 non profit, feminist organization. By making knowledge accessible and providing a safe space for youth and adults, GRCB is a key element in bringing about necessary social change in our community.

Who We Are

Girls Rock Campaign Boston Volunteers

Girls Rock Campaign Boston is an volunteer-driven organization! None of this would be possible without the unbelievable talent, support, and efforts of the hundreds of volunteers who work year round to make our programs and operations possible! We would be nowhere without their support! Thank You!

Girls Rock Campaign Boston Staff

Nora Allen-Wiles :: Founder, Executive Director

nora@girlsrockboston.org

Hilken Mancini :: Founder, Program Director

hilken@girlsrockboston.org

Charlotte Huffman :: Year Round Program Coordinator

charlotte.huffman@girlsrockboston.org

Megan Sutton :: Operations Coordinator

megan.sutton@girlsrockboston.org

GRCB Volunteer Advisory Team

Emily Arkin

emily.arkin@girlsrockboston.org

Stud Green

stud.green@girlsrockboston.org

Erin King

erin.king@girlsrockboston.org

Alison Murray

alison.murray@girlsrockboston.org

Girls Rock Campaign Boston Board of Directors

Veronica Santana :: President

Chris Pienta :: Chair

Kelly Baker :: Treasurer

Mayté Antelo-Ovando :: Director

Dorothy Clark :: Director

Dana Clarke :: Director

Brenda Hernandez :: Director

Girls Rock Campaign Boston is a proud member of the:

The Girls Rock Camp Alliance is an international membership network of youth-centered arts and social justice organizations. We provide resources and space for community building to our membership in order to build a strong movement for collective liberation. Learn more at www.girlsrockcampalliance.org.