About

Our Mission

Girls Rock Campaign Boston empowers girls to believe in themselves by providing a supportive community that fosters self-expression, confidence, and collaboration through musical education and performance.

What We Do

Girls Rock Campaign Boston (GRCB) works to eradicate all the limiting myths about music and gender by helping girls speak up, sing out, and make a lot of noise!

We offer a volunteer run summer program for girls aged 8-17.  During each session, girls have the opportunity to form bands, learn how to play an instrument (guitar, bass, keyboards, drums, or vocals), compose an original song and perform live at a local rock venue – all in one week’s time. In addition to the band practices and instrumental lessons, GRCB also provides workshops geared towards self-esteem building and self-expression. We also offer Club GRCB, an after school program for girls in 7-12 grades, and Ladies Rock Camp Boston for women 21 and over.

We have cultivated a supportive community of peers and positive female mentors that encourage and teach girls to be their own heroes, allowing them to think differently about limits that may be placed upon them by our society.

Girls Rock Campaign Boston is a 501(c)(3) non profit, feminist organization. By making knowledge accessible and providing a safe space for girls and women, GRCB is a key element in bringing about necessary social change in our community.

Who We Are

Girls Rock Campaign Boston is an all femaleprimarily volunteer run organization! None of this would be possible without the unbelievable talent, support, and efforts of our GRCB and LRCB volunteers! Thank You!

Girls Rock Campaign Boston Staff

Hilken Mancini :: Founder, Program Director

hilken@girlsrockboston.org

Nora Allen-Wiles :: Founder, Executive Director

nora@girlsrockboston.org

Charlotte Huffman :: Year Round Program Coordinator

charlotte.huffman@girlsrockboston.org

Megan Sutton :: Operations Coordinator

megan.sutton@girlsrockboston.org

Girls Rock Campaign Boston Leadership and Operations Team

Emily Arkin :: Director of Identity and Archives

emily.arkin@girlsrockboston.org

Erin King :: Director of Community Engagement

erin.king@girlsrockboston.org

Alison Murray :: Director of Gear and Operations

alison.murray@girlsrockboston.org

Lee Bateman :: Director of Musical Curriculum

lee.bateman@girlsrockboston.org

Girls Rock Campaign Boston Board of Directors

Tanya Palit :: President

Michelle Porche :: Vice President

Stud Green :: Treasurer

Griselda Tomaino :: Secretary

Magen Tracy :: Board Member

Cornelia Hoskin :: Board Member

Girls Rock Campaign Boston is a proud member of the:

The Girls Rock Camp Alliance is an international coalition of organizations whose shared mission is to empower girls and women using the tools of music education to foster self-esteem and confidence. To this end, the GRCA promotes, strengthens, and expands services provided by its affiliated camps. Learn more at www.girlsrockcampalliance.org.